2024 World Car Awards – Toyota Prius is the 2024 World Car Design of the Year


The Toyota Prius is the 2024 World Car Design of the Year. The new-gen Prius beat the Ferrari Purosangue and Ford Bronco to the coveted design award. The 2024 World Car Awards winners were announced today at the New York International Auto Show 2024. Yogendra Pratap, Editor, Auto Today is a juror of the World Car Awards.

“We went back to the drawing board to reimage the Prius, considering whether to create a commodity, turning it into more of a taxi or creating something that would capture hearts. Ultimately, we choose to create something people can love not only for its rational benefits, but also emotional experience,” said Yasushi Ueda, Chief Engineer for Prius. “It is an honor to receive the Best Design award – inside and out, the new Prius is a car that not only looks great, but also is fun to drive.”

A jury of 100 distinguished international automotive journalists from 29 countries selected the winners by secret ballot based on their evaluation of each eligible vehicle as part of their on-going professional work. The vote results were tabulated by KPMG.

A design panel consisting of six highly respected world design experts was asked to first review each candidate, and then establish a short-list of recommendations for the jurors’ final vote. The design experts include Gert Hildebrand (Germany – Owner, Hildebrand-Design), Patrick le Quément (France – Designer and President of the Strategy Committee – The Sustainable Design School), Tom Matano (USA – Academy of Art University, Former Head of Design – Mazda), Victor Nacif (USA – Chief Creative Officer, Brojure.com and Design instructor, NewSchool of Architecture and Design), Shiro Nakamura (Japan – CEO, Shiro Nakamura Design Associates Inc.) and Frank Stephenson (UK – Founder, Frank Stephenson Design).

The top-three for the 2024 World Car Design of the Year category were announced last month at the Geneva International Motor Show. The Toyota Prius in its latest-gen went up against the Ford Bronco and the Ferrari Purosangue, but the final voting process meant that the Prius received the coveted award. Last year, the Hyundai Ioniq 6 was crowned the winner in the category.

Published By:

Anagh Bhaskar

Published On:

Mar 27, 2024


Source link