Jharkhand Rajya Sabha elections: BJP names Pradeep Verma as candidate for polls

The BJP on Saturday named party general secretary Pradeep Verma as the candidate for Rajya Sabha elections in Jharkhand.

The biennial elections for two Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand will be held on March 21, an official was quoted as saying by news agency PTI.

The last day for filing nominations is March 11, the official said, adding that the last date of withdrawal of candidature is March 14.

Two Rajya Sabha MPs from Jharkhand, Samir Oraon from the BJP and Diraj Prasad Sahu from the Congress, will retire on March 3.

In the recent Rajya Sabha elections for 15 seats in three states, namely Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Karnataka, the BJP secured wins in Uttar Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh amid cross-voting, while the Congress won the majority of seats in Karnataka.

Ajay Maken, Nasser Hussain and GC Chandrashekar won the elections for the Congress in Karnataka, while Narayansa Bhandage won the elections for the BJP.

Meanwhile, in Himachal Pradesh, BJP candidate Harsh Mahajan won the Rajya Sabha seat, defeating the ruling Congress candidate, Abhishek Manu Singhvi. Mahajan won the elections after a draw of lots following a tie with Singhvi at 34 votes.

Similarly, in Uttar Pradesh, where polls for 10 seats were held, the BJP won all the eight seats it contested. The Samajwadi Party won two out of the three seats it contested.

(With inputs from PTI)

Published By:

Ashutosh Acharya

Published On:

Mar 10, 2024

Source link