Madhya Pradesh local body polls: BJP wins big, AAP debuts, Congress calls results ‘encouraging’

Counting of votes for the first phase of local body polls held in Madhya Pradesh were announced on Sunday. While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 5 out of 11 municipal corporations, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) made its debut in the state by winning the mayoral post in Singrauli.

The counting continued on late Sunday night as the BJP and the Congress were ahead on two seats each.

Local bodies elections in Madhya Pradesh were held in two phases earlier this month – on July 6 and 13. Polls were held on 413 municipalities, including 16 Nagar Palika Nigam, 99 Nagar Palika Parishad and 298 Nagar Parishad. Under the first phase, polling was held in 11 municipal corporations, 36 nagar palikas and 86 nagar parishads. Counting of votes for the second phase will take place on July 20.


In the first phase, polling was held for mayoral posts in 11 municipal corporations, including Bhopal, Indore, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Sagar, Satna, Singrauli, Chhindwara, Khandwa, Burhanpur and Ujjain.

When the last information came in, the BJP had won the post of mayor in five municipal corporations – Burhanpur, Satna, Khandwa, Sagar and Ujjain.

Hailing the party’s performance, Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the people of Madhya Pradesh for entrusting the Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led government.

CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan termed the party’s performance as historic. “The BJP has won over 80 per cent seats in nagar panchayat and nagar parishad polls. In the elections for the polls in 11 municipal corporations, the party’s mayoral candidates are winning seven, while the Congress have three and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) one,” PTI quoted CM Chouhan as saying.

“In these three (municipal corporations) too, the Congress has not won completely as BJP has got more corporator seats, In Gwalior, out of 66 seats, the BJP has won 36 and the Congress 29. In Jabalpur, out of 79 seats, 39 were won by the BJP and 30 by the Congress,” he added.


Meanwhile, AAP candidate AAP’s mayoral candidate Rani Agrawal defeated BJP’s Chandrapratap Vishwakarma by a margin of 9,352 votes in Singrauli municipal corporation.

Delhi Chief Minister and AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal tweeted, “Many congratulations to AAP candidate Rani Agarwal ji, who won the post of Mayor in Singrauli Municipal Corporation of Madhya Pradesh, and to all the winners and workers. Work hard for the people. Now, the people in every corner of the country are liking the honest politics of work of Aam Aadmi Party.”

However, the AAP could win only five seats in the 45-member Sinrauli civic body.


The Congress has won in Chhindwara and was leading in Gwalior and Jabalpur when reports last came in. However, the party claimed victory in both the municipal corporations.

“Congratulations to all the leaders and workers of MP Congress for their commendable and courageous performance in the MP municipal elections. Despite the all-round attacks, money and power of the BJP government, your hard work has created history by hoisting the Congress flag after 57 years in Gwalior Municipal Corporation and after 23 years in Jabalpur,” Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra said in a tweet.

Former Chief Minister Kamal Nath called the results “encouraging” for the party while accusing the BJP of winning the elections with the help of police and administration.

“The result is encouraging for the Congress. We have won three mayoral elections – in Chhindwara, Jabalpur and Gwalior. A large number of our corporators have won the civic body elections too. We won the top post of Gwalior city after 50 years,” PTI quoted Kamal Nath as saying.

“We are going to review the results of Bhopal and Indore (where the BJP has established a decisive lead in mayoral elections),” he added.


Meanwhile, four candidates of the Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) registered won the corporator’s post in three cities — Jabalpur, Burhanpur and Khandwa. This is the maiden victory of AIMIM in Madhya Pradesh civic body polls.

In Burhanpur as well, AIMIM’s mayoral nominee Shaista Sohail Hashmi got 10,274 votes as BJP’s Madhuri Patel won by a thin margin of 542 votes by defeating Congress’ Shahnaz Bano.

— ENDS —

Source link