Sikkim Assembly election date announced: Polling in one phase on April 19


The Assembly in Sikkim will be held in one phase on April 19, the Election Commission announced on Saturday.

Sikkim is one of the four states whose Assembly election dates have been announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI) today.

Arunachal Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha are the three other states whose poll dates were announced by the poll panel.

These states will go into polls alongside the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, whose dates were also declared today.

The tenure of the current Sikkim government under the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) and led by Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang will end in June 2024.

The Sikkim Assembly has 32 constituencies, of which, as many as 17 are under the ruling SKM.

Prem Singh Tamang, 56, represents the Poklok-Kamrang constituency, and is the sixth Chief Minister of Sikkim. He founded the SKM and has been its supremo since 2019.

In 2019, Prem Tamang ended Pawan Kumar Chamling’s 25-year rule in the northeastern state. Tamang’s SKM won 17 seats, enough to have a majority in the Sikkim Assembly, as opposed to 15 won by the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) led by Chamling.

Chamling was the longest serving Chief Minister of India as he served five consecutive terms.

Meanwhile, the BJP, Congress and the Hamro Sikkim Party, which had 12, 24 and 23 candidates contesting the elections, failed to win any of the 32 seats.

The 2019 Sikkim Assembly elections were held in a single phase.

Published On:

Mar 16, 2024


Source link